Week Three – Part I…The Horror Show


…….continued from week two

Its ‘party time’ , first of our official outing was about to get off. I was even more excited as I had heard about “Ramoji Film City” as a very beautiful and interesting place. It can be described as a very big film studio, due to its vast geographical boundaries it was called as a city. It was a virtual world which we often come across in our Bollywood movies, television commercials/serials and other regional movies. Railway Station with a train that could not move, Airport with a stationary aircraft and a Palace for all the historical and mythological shootings were some of the major attractions.

We were travelling by a bus, it was not a “Volvo” make, not even our own “Tata”, it was something else altogether. But it accommodated all of us and that was the best part. We sang and danced all through the way, everybody trying to mark his/her signature move for others to see and appreciate. I also participated, though one step only and that was more than enough for a dancer of my class. Our South Indian friend from Nagpur and “Nawaab” were the constant movers and shakers till we reached our destination. I also remember our Kerelite friend singing “Guzaarish”, a hindi song from the movie “Ghajini”, if you judge it on technical grounds it was pathetic but still we all enjoyed it.

We reached the place and started our tour. It was a different world altogether, had it not been for the other locals who had come to visit the place we would have mistaken it for “Disney World”. I have never been to “Disney World” so don’t blame me if the above comparison was improper in any sense. So, we enjoyed a lot, lots of shows, activities and rides made our day. And who can forget the amazing ride of “Twister”, at first it looked scary but then as everybody was going in for a ride I hopped in as well.

“Haalat kharaab ho gayi usme baith kar, duniya ghoom gayi…”  (“Didn’t feel good after the ride, world went upside-down”), and I am sure it went the same way for the most of us though they won’t admit it thinking it as a sign of weakness.

It would be a grave injustice if I don’t mention the “gardens of Ramoji”. “Awesome” is the only expression that I can use. “Agar India me har garden ko aise maintain karke rakhein to West se zyaada khoobsoorat lage humaara Hindustan…”(“If each and every garden in India is maintained like this then India will be more beautiful than any of the western countries…”), I said to myself.

Well, we went ahead to create a lot more “bawaal” and decided to join the “rain dance”. It was a thoroughly enjoyed event and one would think that it would have been an “all guys show”, but not to be, we had a female participant as well. She had her own style of doing things and was a much better fit in the Campus environment than most of us. We later coined her as “dabangg” due to her frank behaviour and unique style. Her activities in the weeks to follow would make her earn the prestigious “Bajrang Dal” membership though the same was also supported by some solid “jaan-pehchaan”(“references”)  from the “table tennis fraternity”.

So, the “rain dance” was a “bawaal”, rightly put by my table tennis champion friend,“Paani me aag laga di thi…”(“We set the water on fire…”). He is tall and thin, I mean very slim and loves his cellphone. A good dancer, he likes to enjoy life slowly and steadily which was evident in our “official meetings” as well. One of my best friends today, we both share one common feeling, “zindagi ko enjoy karo, duniya jaaye bhaad me” (“enjoy the life as it comes, to hell with this world”). Also, his traditional “haoo..” for “haan”(“yes”) will always be remembered by me due to its unique style and dialogue delivery.

On our way back, we again sang and danced in our bus, though the ‘original zeal’ was somewhat missing, blame it on the ‘tired nature’ of passengers or ‘wet clothing’ of rain dance participants. It was raining heavily by the time we had covered almost half the distance to our campus and the ‘natural showers’ suddenly stopped as we deboarded at our destination, what a perfect timing!

You can’t beat time by any stretch of imagination. Even if you try to avoid the anxiety for a scheduled scheme of things it will certainly make you more conscious just before the happening of the event, I call it as ‘the vacuum phase’ just because it provides no medium to accommodate any kind of thoughts. Very well versed with the above philosophy I still tried to outwit the invincible but gradually as I was making my way back to the room I realized that its time for “The Horror Show”, its time for “CA Final Results”. Still one day was left for the ‘D-day’ and that was even more ‘horrific’.

Next day was very quite with all the ‘Result buzz’ in the air. On our special request to one of the Council members who was also a faculty that day, we were granted a half-day leave for the next day which was to be the day of “The Horror Show”.

I can never forget the uneasiness and the sunken feeling of that night. I also believe that the same was experienced by all, and if not by all then atleast by the members of the so-called “formal meetings” as we were up all night trying to overcome “The Horror Show”. We were chatting, singing, dancing and joking with each other pretending to be not at all bothered about the ‘mysterious consequences’ that were to follow.

Who in this world doesn’t want to be successful? In every expression, “Jo hoga dekha jaayega, main zyaada tension nahi leta”(“I’ll take things as they come, I don’t bother much about the future”), there’s a very strong sense of request to the Almighty for a positive outcome.

So, we spent all night doing something or the other and as the “cruel morning” approached everybody went to sleep except for me and my Table Tennis champion friend as both of us decided to enjoy some early morning Table Tennis practice. But after an hour or so we also decided to part our ways to our respective rooms and take a ‘power nap’ before “The Horror Show” began.

I woke up to a thumping sound on the door,“aa gaya shaayad”(“I think it’s out”). I had never been so keen to ignore any such disturbances, it was quite evident till now that “The Horror Show” had already begun. My roommate, as always, was not responding at all. Finally, I gathered some courage and hopped out of my bed to unlock the door.

A short guy with spectacles on came rushing in and announced, “Roll Number bol”(“Tell me your Roll Number”).  I asked him, “Result aa gaya kya?”(“Has the Result been declared?”).

He is short, academically intelligent and a punctual professional. His ‘punctuality’ became popular as he used to set an alarm even for the washing of clothes in the washing machine. May be it was just a rumour, but I never objected on the same as his personality seemed quite capable of doing such a thing. Moreover, his patented dialogue with his right hand raised in confidence,“CS qualified Sir!” was a frequent phenomena. To be very frank, he was so well-disciplined that some of us sometimes thought that life is really tough if you want to lead it ideally.

“Haan! Tu apna Roll Number Bataa”.(“Yes! You just tell me your Roll Number”), he murmured doing something with his cellphone. Meanwhile my roommate woke up and arranged his laptop and internet connection. We asked our visitor about his result and he smiled and gave the ‘good news’. We congratulated him and said we would prefer the laptop screen instead of the cellphone display, though nothing would matter now.

Slowly, there was a gang of hopeful students in my room. I was slipping myself away from the crowd to give time to my nervousness and anxiety but the sheer excitement to know others’ fate drew me closer towards the laptop screen.

One of the participants punched his roll number, “passed” was the call from the ICAI server. The score was very good so he also checked the merit,“Bingo! Rank 21!” He rushed out of the room in joy but we couldn’t follow him to witness his celebrations for obvious reasons. Next one was the same, a change in numerals only,“Rank 28” this time. This was getting heavier for me now, I was not jealous instead the hope to pass was ever-growing.

My roommate was the next one to punch in, “passed” was the call again, not a very high score but still in CA a first attempt crack is worth appreciating. He was very happy and excited, crying out high and loud, but to my surprise he stood his ground holding my hand to take me through the climax of “The Horror Show”. On the other hand, I was feeling that it would be “curtains” for me as the trend of falling scores had already started. I still wish that I had a wrong feeling.

Failed” was the call from the wretched ICAI server (obviously for me only). Everybody was quite, I got up, informed my parents and went to sleep.

Sleeping was also not easy but was better than being awake. When I woke up, it was already lunch time and some of my friends including those who had a similar kind of outcome as mine  were there with me in my room. We discussed somethings just to support each other and decided to carry on our journeys with the same passion and intensity. Though it sounds very spiritual and intellectual but mark my words it was really helpful. We were soon “artificially smiling” searching for the real ones somewhere in others’ happiness.

I dressed up and went into the amphitheatre where the newly qualified Chartered Accountants were celebrating. Though a misfit there, I approached everyone and congratulated. And not to forget, I also enjoyed the ‘controversial cake’.

Class kicked off with some music and everybody was seen dancing, I clapped for everybody in appreciation – they truly deserved it. The topic for the day was ‘Communication’ and our faculty started speaking about “The Horror Show” itself. Well, I can’t disclose the remarks that I had used for him at that point of time for deviating from the topic but the gravity of the situation can be easily understood by my action of leaving the classroom immediately. I went to my room and slept. I don’t remember much about that evening except for the fact that each passing second felt like the cut of a knife on my body.

“Life goes on!” is what people say and we had one of the most ‘talked about’ class scheduled for the next day. 

to be continued to Week Three – Part II……..

     

     

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CA Pritika Suri
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 18:29:07

    touched……lived ur moments…..flashback of my experience….dnt ve words to express my emotions at dis pt f tme…….i knw hw hard it is……..bt dats lfe…..u need 2 face it n accept it…dats it….no other option

    Reply

  2. Namrata mathure
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 20:23:44

    Again too good manish !! Jus u missed writin bout d photo sessions in Ramoji.. Happy to know that I wasn’t d only person who dint enjoy “twister ride”.. Perfect description of result day.. It was a day which though didnt bring happiness brought gr8 friends in life !!

    Reply

  3. CA Sahil Mehra
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 21:13:24

    very nice manish ………. waitin for the next post 🙂

    Reply

  4. sneha
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 22:09:00

    awesome…….nxt is when????

    Reply

  5. Pranav Pareek
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 22:30:39

    reaaall treat to read 🙂

    Reply

  6. Manish Panwar
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 00:10:58

    thanx people…ur comments keep me alive…keep pouring in…next post wud be out soon..!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

