Looking back…..Week One, where it all started


“Bawaal”, a hindi jargon that means “stupendous” in english, is the expression that I have been living with day in and day out for the last five months now.

Yes, it was the pleasant weather of July 2011, one of the most important year for me as a professional, or you can say “to be” professional – a Chartered Accountant. For now I was frustrated of people asking me, “kaun si university se CA kar rahe ho….?” (“which university are you enrolled with for your CA studies….?”) and I was sick of explaining that its regulated by an institute-ICAI (Institute of Chartered Accountants of India), set up by an act of Parliament, the anxiety to get my hands on that prestigious Membership Certificate was ever increasing.

Ruined by these technicalities, I decided to run away from the fear of failure and joined a professional skills development program at The Centre of Excellence, Hyderabad-city of pearls, Nizam and biryaani, here came my first date with “Bawaal”. Though I know the   word very well but never felt it as strong as I do it now.

We were fifty five students, ratio in favour of boys, a common site in a country like India. It was a 42 days residential course and the response of previous batches was very positive and attractive. Further, the very existence of world class campus facilities was exciting and eagerly awaited for.

The course began, everything seemed to be slow and boring, people were shy and I admit I was one of them. Soon, friends emerged and regular sleeping hours were restricted to a maximum of three. I guess the stage was all set for something extraordinary-something to remember all our lives. “Bawaal” was getting very popular and even the food was praised with the magical word. Most importantly, the ‘magic code’ was coined by my roommate, one of the better poets that I have met.

Well, the fun had begun and it was ‘inconvenient’ in it’s most astonishing fashion as one of our faculties had informed us “we are not here to make you feel at home but to make you feel uneasy and challenged….!”

So, came the first testing day. No, it was not any official challenge but a surprise one, and I am still searching for the reason as to why Mr. Mathew Joseph chose me as the first candidate for the challenge. Was it for the reason that I had answered his question on “brand appeal” as “it (a soap) reminds me of a beautiful bollywood heroine…”  or was it just a matter of chance? Anyways I had to face the challenge now.

The task was simple, not in it’s true literary sense though but the process was quite simple, to propose to a girl. And I feel so embarrassed now to admit that I didn’t even know her name inspite of her being my batchmate. So, as it ought to have been with regard to the miserable state of confidence that I was carrying into the activity, my task was a complete failure, rightly said by one of the girl judges,“Manish lacked confidence, he was dull, not clear and afraid, there was no appeal in his expression.” 

At the end of the day, in my room I was feeling different, a negative different. “I lost” was all over my mind, it’s not a big thing that I was worrying about but the fact is I was very, very upset. I have this incredible ability to disguise my feelings except from my family, they know it before I realize it myself. But I must admit, it made me much bold and determined, Mr. Joseph’s trick was working well.

Everyone joined for evening photo sessions and fun was all around, it was haphazard because there was no mutual consent, in fact there were some small groups which kept to themselves, I was also a part of one of them.

“Bajrang Dal” was my group’s identity and we were a bunch of seven or eight people, all guys, of course for obvious reasons. We started having our group meetings after dinner which continued till early mornings and since we were very loud and pompous soon many other guys joined in as well. Gradually, “Bajrang Dal” became a well recognized group of “hooligans” mostly characterized for it’s ill-behavior and mischief rather than some of the positive aspects that professionals ought to carry.

Classes went on and we were faced with one more “Bizarre Element” on this earth, one of the greatest psychologist, philosopher, paleontologist, physiologist and the list is still being updated for want of professions and adjectives. I would call him the “Total Transformation Faculty” or “Fungus”-a more famous title. I am still trying to comprehend his expressions in class, My God it was pathetic. My roommate used to giggle,“he is bawaal in his very own way…” Well I was scolded by him on the very first day of his lecture for not wearing a tie and it didn’t help me anyway in the time to come.

Weekend was near, first weekend and the freedom to go out and enjoy was getting us excited, yes we were not allowed to go out of the campus except on weekends, that too subject to permission from Fungus and time constraints. Still, we were excited and all set to go.

The eagerly awaited day came. We all went out, obviously in groups. It was good fun in shopping malls, gaming arena and food court. Everyone was so happy like he/she had got a pardon from death sentence. With all this positive energy we returned to our campus literally chanting “bawaal” on our way back, and then something happened that shouldn’t have happened.

to be continued……..

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CA Pritika Suri
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 12:37:46

    hw cn u forget ur name coined in coe “Tom”…….waise i really didnt remember dat u were one of the contenders for nisha’s swayamvar……..2day i came 2 knw dat u r a shy guy……..r u really?…….i dnt think so……too gud manish…….3rd july 2011….d date whn we guys met…..almost 5 mnths n d bonding is still d same……..i really liked it….in fact loved it…..relived my coe moments wid u n felt m back in coe…….n fungus ki bahut tarif ho rahi hai……kehta hai toh milne chalte hain usse…..lol……eagerly waiting for ur next blog….. 🙂

    Reply

  2. mnshpanwar
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 12:45:26

    Thank You Pritika…will come with the next one soon…:)

    Reply

  3. Namrata Mathure
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:05:37

    Too good Manish… I was d above mentioned “GIRL JUDGE”… I remember my comments but didnt remember u vr one of d candidates… Even I still wonder y i was choosen as d judge..
    U jus refreshed d COE memories which of course none of us can ever forget…
    Lookin 4ward 4 next parts… Dont 4get ur special session wid Fungus on last day while writing bout d last week…

    Reply

  4. Rahul Gupta
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:12:21

    after completing ur blog i was scrolling “n” no. of times so that may b i can find a little bit mor to read…bt newayz i knw i hav to wait for a while…

    very impressive mah Buoy!!!! 🙂 😀

    Reply

  5. Raveesh chaudhary
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:27:28

    eagerly waiting for that to be continue thing.. full of masala, ur words got a perfect glue that affixed me and compelled me to read the whole.. keep it up boss!!! i got a word for you AWESOME!!

    Reply

  6. Rama
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:38:16

    bhai bohut badhiya hai………….v gud yaar……..tera memory power ko maan gaye………bohut detail main yaad hai thuje………kip it going………nd waiting 4 ur nxt blog

    Reply

  7. vishal aggarwal
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:41:02

    really wonderful to read ur first day experiene.i m reliving those memories.by the way surprised to know that u r too shy.waiting for complete experience of coe.

    Reply

  8. shakti
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:44:03

    bhai bohut badhiya hai………….v gud yaar……..tera memory power ko maan gaye………bohut detail main yaad hai thuje………kip it going………nd waiting 4 ur nxt blog

    Reply

  9. pranav pareek
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 13:53:04

    it doesn’t seem dat u r writing for the first time… U hv written so well.. Hats off.. Like a professional writer.. U left some suspense at d end.. Waiting for ur next post.. Bawaal krte raho 🙂

    Reply

  10. Ishani
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 14:06:23

    nice1…ol d memories refreshed……!!!thanx a ton..

    Reply

  11. CA Ankush Singla
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 15:01:07

    Bawaal…..!!
    well wriiten

    Reply

  12. Prateek Mishra
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 18:40:26

    very well written.. i firmly believe that this blog will act as a launchpad for you as a prolific writer… and yes one more thing.. chetan bhagat fo.. hahaha…

    Reply

  13. CA Sahil Mehra
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 20:52:15

    Awesome manish !! waiting for the next part.

    🙂

    COE is one of the nicer things to happen to 55 of us !! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Akash Gupta
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 20:55:45

    BAWAAL!!! is the word to describe ur blog dude!
    Its awsum bro.. very well written & expressed.
    waiting for the next part……..

    Reply

  15. CA Ankita Varma
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 21:45:45

    superb manish………..its really too good yaar………….while reading i actually got flash back of our
    whole coe journey which is unforgettable……thanks a ton for refreshing it……………looking forward the next one………..good job……….

    Reply

  16. Sakshi Arora
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 21:54:24

    thank you for writing this….:):)
    u hv narrated COE wid beautiful combination of words…..
    Sab yaad aa gya bas…:):)

    Reply

  17. Siddharth
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 17:38:14

    this blog is the result of SOOD’s English classes in 12th …and all the faaltu time in which we staged her SAREE Act 😀 ; ) ..!!
    AWESOME Bro .. \m/

    Reply

  18. Radhika Kamat
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 17:38:14

    Awesome read 🙂 Thankyou for bringing COE back to life for me 🙂 You really write well 🙂 Waiting for the follow-up….:)

    Reply

  19. Aakriti Kundra
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 17:39:55

    OMG!!! Is it you Manish, I m hungry to read more.
    Man so well written, I felt as if it ws another Chetan Bhagat work….
    U better write I m dying to have the story side being narrated from u….
    U better take this profession srsly, u r so ardent writer

    Reply

  20. Prateek Mishra
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 18:47:57

    it seems you are getting better with every strike..at last some one brought some glamour for CA too,as it is generally stamped as dull and boring as science people always steal the show, but not this time,, kudos to you and hats off too,, i like the way you leave people guessing,, good work,, keep it up,

    Reply

  21. Nisha
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 16:11:00

    Awesome manish keep writing……you complete your writing after that we all should plan to print a book………..its truly amazing:) you are a very good writer…….:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

